Gingin – St Catherine’s
During its early years, the Catholic Community of Gingin was served by the Benedictine Community from New Norcia, which offered Mass once a month. In spite of this, the local community, with the support of Fr Wilfrid O.S.B., began fundraising for the construction of a church. The timber and iron materials for the church were transported by horse and dray from Perth.
St Catherine’s was officially opened on 14th June 1931 by Lord Abbot Catalon O.S.B. In addition to her generous donation, Mrs Catherine Musk also donated an Oil Painting of St Catherine of Siena for above the Altar. By the 1960s, the Franciscans at Midland were offering monthly Masses at the Church. The Parish of Gingin-Chittering was formed in the 1980s. Comprising Gingin, Bindoon, and Bullsbrook. As a result, there were more frequent Masses.
A bee infestation in the walls and ceiling forced the Church to close in the late 1990’s. Furthermore, the Church was in a serious state of disrepair. Upon Fr Fox’s appointment in May 2000, things quickly changed. Fundraising allowed the Church to be completely renovated, with the interior walls lined, the porch constructed at the front, and the oil painting restored. It was also later decided to install new window frames and leadlight windows.
Today, Gingin’s picturesque church is an extremely beautiful little country church. Additionally, Fr Paul built a bell tower for the Angelus before Mass, as well as a beautiful stone Grotto in honour of Our Lady of Lourdes.
Location: Constable Rd, Gingin WA 6503
Saturday Vigil: 5.00 pm (4.30pm Rosary)